Tag Archives | Warren Ellis

James Bond due back as ‘brutal, damaged’ spy in comic by Warren Ellis

James Bond 007 cover by Dom Reardon for Dynamite Comics

James Bond 007 cover by Dom Reardon for Dynamite Comics

Fans of Bond, James Bond have been let down repeatedly by the latter day post-Ian Fleming Bond novels. That may change, in graphic form as one of the comics world’s most talented writers, Warren Ellis (creator of one of my favorite graphic novels Transmetropolitan), takes on the 007 challenge, as reported in the Guardian:

Warren Ellis is promising to deliver the “original, brutal, damaged” James Bond of Ian Fleming’s novels in a new comic book series out later this year, the first in more than two decades.

Launching in November with a six-issue story arc called VARGR, the series will see 007 back in London after a “mission of vengeance” in Helsinki, where he takes on the workload of a fallen agent. “But something evil is moving through the back streets of the city, and sinister plans are being laid for Bond in Berlin,” said publisher Dynamite.

Read the rest
Continue Reading

David Malone’s Dangerous Knowledge

Via WarrenEllis.com:
One of the very interesting people I met at How The Light Gets In was the writer and filmmaker David Malone. In conversation with him and (it was a very weird weekend, okay?) Michael Nyman and the head of cultural affairs at the Mexican embassy to the UK, he’d mentioned that some of his work had been uploaded by other people to the net. Also, that his preferred form, the lyric televisual essay, had gone out of fashion.  As I’ve noted here more than once, proper rhetorical television isn’t really made any more. So I went looking, when I got home.  And I found his DANGEROUS KNOWLEDGE:
In this one-off documentary, David Malone looks at four brilliant mathematicians – Georg Cantor, Ludwig Boltzmann, Kurt Gödel and Alan Turing – whose genius
Continue Reading

Warren Ellis on The DisinfoCast with Matt Staggs

Warren Ellis | The DisinfoCast with Matt Staggs: Episode 08

Warren Ellis

iTunes | Download (mp3) | RSS | iPhone App

Legendary comics author and novelist Warren Ellis joins me on The DisinfoCast for a conversation about the future that was, artificial intelligence, the Singularity, aliens (ancient and otherwise), the legacy of Hunter S. Thompson, porn and even a little bit about comic books. Tune in.
Continue Reading

In Defense of the Hipster: Part 2

HipsterShark2PART 2: AUTHENTICITY IS BULLSHIT, or: POP IS THE NEW PUNK

(Part 1, titled “What Is A Hipster, And Why Does Everyone Hate Them? or: You’re So Fake (And So Am I), can be found here.)

As noted in Part 1, the main thrust of the criticisms against hipsters have roots in a notion of authenticity.  Lorentz mentions the words “authentic” and “inauthentic” a dozen times in his article, and the Adbusters piece is just as bad. It’s a fair charge to say that hipsters fetishize the authentic, as Lorentz does. This is hardly unique to hipsters, though; one can find it in practically any sub-culture. It’s so common that I find it disingenuous to use it as a criticism of hipsters and Hipsterism. The problem, as I see it, is that notion of authenticity being used is utter bullshit.

Some years ago, before I became a hipster or had even heard of hipsters, I was confirmed as “real” at a party by a group of counter-culture kids.… Read the rest

Continue Reading